Sign in to follow this  
Demoster

Losing my faith in my s13

So here goes. My hell machine isn't working too well. The symptoms are as follows.

Fluctuating idle at the lights, so revs between 100 and 1000rpm

Fuel consumption is around 20L/100 I know I should expect a gas guzzler but this is a little over the top

More carbon and overall black stuff coming out of my exhaust than a diesel truck.

Whether it means anything my voltmeter gauge fluctuates with the rpm

Got the idle control valve cleaned out, same as the injectors, and fuel tank,lines and filter. The mix is obviously very very rich.

Any help is valued. If your very helpful I'll try make a case or something head your way as a thank you!

Silly question, could that be responsible for lack of fuel vacuum? When I go to fill up no hissing noise... I'm an apprentice panel beater not mechanic so excuse the simple-ness

N/A cars still have vacuume lines mate. As said above, afm, spark plugs O2, sensor maybe?

Edited by Captain Wow

listen,

spray soapy water and look for bubbles

spend $20 and replace all the vaccume lines with new ones front autobarn (only use 2 sizes so just take a sample)

check they are going to the right spot

S13 SR20DE.jpg

things to check..

1. plugs.. are all cylinders running rich ? (fkd injector, injector oring, rail insulator, potential spark issue(backfire ? ))

2. Fuel regulator.. is your fuel pressure ok ? (too much fuel pressure)

3. Sensor issue..

3a) AFM voltage too high

3b) engine temp sensor not working

3c) throttle position sensor

4) cold start issue (throttle bypass) common on the NA sr..

Alec, just give up and sell it to me cheap.

I mean, last time you spoke to me, your description sounded like it's running on 3 cylinders. Have you done anything to check that it's not the case?

Demoster, a little history of the car would be good. Has it ever run well? What changes have been made? When did the problem start? How did the problem progress? Etc.