Sign in to follow this  
doriftosydney1

more tracks in sydney

Hi everybody,

I very quick background on me. I live in the Sydney area, I don’t drive a jdm car and I’m a noob to drifting.

I know the following may sound far fetch but the internet has helped countries overthrow governments and make 20 year olds billionaires, all I want is some more race tracks in Sydney and I think people power is the way to do it!

There is many a debate on the drifting scene/culture in Australia and its future, lack of growth, no money etc….

I believe that in Sydney especially, the key to growing this sport is track time and venues which we lack both. The more tracks and track time we have, the more people will see and the more people will do. I know individuals and clubs are working on fixing this and that’s great but what if we think outside the box and keep everyone in the loop there will be more chance in making something happen. Some very valid points have been brought up on the ‘keep drifting fun’ thread.

So this is my idea.

We identify areas where drifting can take place which is mainly large car parks and public venues. We approach the council and see what is involved in getting approval for a very basic ‘car show’ setup which eventually turns into small drift circuit.

Sydney Olympic park has huge baron car parks with no visible public neighbours.

We set up a night or day event (does not matter) day may be easier due to noise restrictions.

All we need is a vacant car park with temporary barriers and good organisation and we are away.

they do it all over the world, why cant we do it here.

This event would need to take place at least once a week, which would then create a known hangout, which would then create an identity, which would then create a culture etc etc etc.

I am not talking about creating a big sponsored pro event, i am talking about track time, keeping it fun and getting more people into it.