Sign in to follow this  
Alex Sciacca

Do you really need swaybars in a dedicated drift car?

just thought id bring this up as im am getting close to finishing my s14 and not to sure if i should use swaybars.

i no a few people that are not using swaybars but most of you guys are.

for the guys that are not using swaybars please explain why and is it a better option.

I AM ONLY DEDICATING THIS TOPIC TO THE FULLY BUILT, DRIFT ONLY, RACE CARS!!

so please tell me what you no

cheers

I'm trying to decide the same thing so will be watching closely.

If you are running stiff springs i would not run them. As you don't make full use of the independent suspension. I will not be using them in my project. But i am a noob so.....

didnt have one in the front of mine.. and only a GTR sway bar up the back. BC coilovers with uprated springs (10s and 8s from memory)

suited me fine.

best thing to do i spose in your case is put them in see how they feel, ad try some laps with the links disconnected. if you like it. ditch the sway bars.

I see it as, if you run your car low and stiff suspension then no swaybars would help the suspension run more independently. Could be completely off the mark but that's what I see it as.

i run no rear sway bar.

8/6 springs with BC ER's. i found that straight away it gave me so much more control when at large angle. meaning backwards entries were more repeatable then before.

i have also been hearing to ditch the rear and keep the front, is that the go or ditch them all together?