Sign in to follow this  
>MRG187

Lense selection.

Hey guys, Looking at upgrading my canon ef 75-300mm f/4-5.6.

What are some good upgrades for the canon eos 1000d? (i know it's not the best).. Would like to know some proven lense that are good for drift photography, possisbly with IS...

Also would like to keep it under 1k if i could... Any info would be great im new to photography so go easy lol

cheers

IIRC - The canon 1000D only has 7 focus points, correct? Possible in the future look to upgrading to something with 9AF points like a 40/50/60D or even the 7D. Just a thought.

As for drift photography lenses, you can't go past the 70-200's.

You can pick up the 70-200 f/4 Non IS for $1000. But then again you want IS...

Any reason why you want IS? I have a 70-200 2.8IS and i never use IS for drift/motorsport photography. I only use it for stationary shots or other photography where i'll be shooting low shutter speeds.

There is the 3rd party options of Sigmas "Bigma" the 50-500 that has OS (A form of IS), but i think thats around $1500, probably less if you shop around. then there is the 150-500, there is another lens that goes to 400mm from Sigma, although i can't remember what it's called.

They are all variable apertures depending on the focal length, not constant though like the 70-200's.

Otherwise, Save up your dough, theres a 75-300L that just got released. Expect that to be around the $2K zone though.

It's better to save a bit more and get something decent, than be unhappy and wanting something else. I've been there!

Hope i've helped!

^ Hey matey yea i know i have the worst of the canon range lol, will look to upgrade soon. And for the IS i assumed that that helped with panning as in helps stablize the image, obviously im wrong lol

Sorta glad that i dont have to look for IS now, there so expensive. So you reckon the 70-200 f4 would be the best bet.?

Also how bad is the lense i have now? It seems to do the job just thought it's a starter lense?