Jump to content


Better off with Q45 Afm or Z32 Afm? 

20 replies to this topic

#1 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 01 March 2012 - 05:59 AM

Hi guys just trying to get my car ready for tune n when looking for z32 Afm the q45 keep popping up both are 90mm, can the q45 be wired into sr20det easy ?

Cars will be running s15 injectors if not 550's, turbo is hks2510 so it's not huge power so will I even need the Afm? Ecu is a nistune

Any ideas or help would be great thanks

#2 comodrifter

  • Joined:22-October 06
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:S13 silvia

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:47 AM

I've had a few different AFM and every time I go to the tuner I get told to get a Z32 AFM. They know Z32's and how they work so I'd just get a Z32 because the tuner has wasted a lot time trying to tune my car with a weird AFM only to turn around and say you need a Z32 AFM to finish the tune. More money spent trying to cut corners with a cheaper AFM. Just get Z32 and know when you go to the tuner that it won't be a problem.

#3 gulrez

  • Joined:31-January 11
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:1996 180sx Type x

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:59 AM

yeah z32 is tried and tested...prolly better off just getting one of those

#4 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:34 AM

Too easy will just get a z32 then, trying to cover every aspect so its just on rollers n off done no drama

#5 gulrez

  • Joined:31-January 11
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:1996 180sx Type x

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:58 AM

yeah thats the best way to do it eh so you dont get dramas when its getting tuned

#6 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:34 PM

Totally ! drama = money haha and im picking up z32 with trust filter both brand new tomorrow, now to find that guy that hi flows sr injectors

#7 brent47

  • Joined:29-January 04
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:jdm 15

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:48 PM

In reality a Q45 afm just allows for more power to be made without swapping away from a MAF style ecu.

#8 kouki_s14a

  • Joined:26-October 10
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:Kouki S14a

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:50 PM

The Z32 has wider parameters

#9 brent47

  • Joined:29-January 04
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:jdm 15

Posted 01 March 2012 - 06:55 PM

That's it, I dunno why I put Q45 instead of Z32 but anyway.

Q45 is 10mm bigger too so more of a pain too plumb and a bitch to tune.

#10 rlGed^180

  • Joined:20-December 07
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:REDTOP 180SX

Posted 03 March 2012 - 10:17 AM

Stupid question = Why does the AFM need upgrading from standard?

#11 S13 Track Hack

  • Joined:12-October 08
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:S13 CA18det

Posted 03 March 2012 - 10:27 AM

Cause stock air flow meters are very restrictive. Z32 afm handles around 300kw if I'm not wrong yeah?

I got an rb25 afm and it was easy to install and tuner said it was easy to.

#12 rlGed^180

  • Joined:20-December 07
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:REDTOP 180SX

Posted 03 March 2012 - 10:44 AM

Ahh k so it's about air flow/size of the thing not the sensor it self

For a car with fmic,manifold,disco potato,full exhaust would there be a need to upgrade the AFM?

#13 brent47

  • Joined:29-January 04
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:jdm 15

Posted 03 March 2012 - 10:48 AM

Anything over 200 and you need to go to atleast an R33 AFM but ideally a Z32
(that's with S15 not sure if the redtop SR's lack more resoloution again)

#14 gulrez

  • Joined:31-January 11
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:1996 180sx Type x

Posted 03 March 2012 - 12:05 PM

yeah the z32 sensor is higher resolution plus flows more so thats why you need to upgrade it...or get an ecu that can use a map sensor

#15 aym23q

  • Joined:27-December 06
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:S15

Posted 03 March 2012 - 12:33 PM

Z32 afm can handle much more than 300rwkw

#16 Singstar

  • Joined:18-February 07
  • Car:200sx

Posted 03 March 2012 - 02:10 PM

SR AFM's have lower resolution, but they don't STOP you making power. It depends on who's tuning it. Once you go past the limit of how much air it can measure, the ecu sorta extrapolates what it could/should be doing, so it's just guess work. So most guys won't want to push it too far past resolution. FIRECRACKER's S13 was making 240rw/kw with a standard SR AFM, for what its worth. Stock redtop SR with S15 injectors, fuel pressure regulator, and some ancient chinese high-flow turbo.

I don't know how many people here have actually faced restrictions from the Z32 AFM, but I've never actually seen hard data to say if the Q45 sensor can read higher airflow, but people like to say bigger is better. Z32 is probably easier to replace if you ever have issues, so you don't have to worry about getting a retune if you ever have issues and can't find a replacement Q45.

#17 D_Stirls

  • Joined:28-October 05
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:180sx

Posted 13 March 2012 - 04:55 PM

A Q45 AFM is not the same size as a Z32, it's 90mm as opposed to 80mm for the Z32.

The Q45 is also rated higher and will support ~100kw more than a Z32.
however due to it's large size don't expect a small diplacement engine to idle to well with an AFM that size as the intake charge velocity across the AFM will be very low.

Edited by D_Stirls, 13 March 2012 - 04:57 PM.


#18 _PL

  • Joined:03-August 06
  • Car:Datto 1600

Posted 14 March 2012 - 10:56 AM

I just logged on to browse the classifieds but saw this and kinda had to reply. I've tuned a couple cars in the last few weeks that finally put this argument to rest for me. First one was an SR20 that made 280rwkw and the Z32 AFM went to 4.4V max. Next one was an RB30/25 and it also made 280rwkw - but running a Q45 AFM. It measured a max of 5V.

Absolute max that the ECU can read is 5.12V. So at 280rwkw the Q45 is approaching max. The engine tuned up great though, idled nicely and had generally good manners. Although with idle/low load stuff it often seems to come down more to positioning and how well the plumbing is done than the AFM itself.

Anyway, that puts the Z32 AFM miles ahead in terms of ability to measure more airflow despite being smaller dia in my book.

PL

#19 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 15 March 2012 - 05:58 AM

Awesome great to know ! I got the z32 and 740's so good to know I have room to move

#20 2gceffy

  • Joined:20-April 05
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:rb25det uras cefiro

Posted 15 March 2012 - 09:53 AM

Awesome great to know ! I got the z32 and 740's so good to know I have room to move

#21 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 16 March 2012 - 04:46 AM

View PostS13 Track Hack, on 03 March 2012 - 10:27 AM, said:

Cause stock air flow meters are very restrictive. Z32 afm handles around 300kw if I'm not wrong yeah?
z32 afm will go pass 300kw





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users




dfp


Common Links

  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • User Agreement
  • Help & Support Forums
  • Advertise
  •  

    By your continued use of this site, you agree to follow all Rules & Guidelines and abide by the User Agreement outlined in our Terms & Conditions.

    Hardtuned Network is hosted by Sanity Technology

    Design, Site Management & Hotness provided by Loz.

    Big thanks to all our members and volunteers for making this network what it is today!