Jump to content


IACV blockoff plate 

21 replies to this topic

#1 one_eighty_sx

  • Joined:05-November 08
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:1990 s15-180sx

Posted 08 January 2012 - 08:00 AM

Anyone no where to find a metal plate that blocks off your IACV that sits under you intake plenum

#2 hinto2

  • Joined:04-December 07
  • Location:Australia SA

Posted 08 January 2012 - 08:24 AM

Probably easier just to make one, get some 3mm alloy plate

#3 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 08 January 2012 - 09:52 AM

+1 make one

#4 sr20pulsar

  • Joined:20-September 08
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:NXR Turbo Coupe

Posted 09 January 2012 - 08:44 AM

+1, Using the gasket as a template.

#5 one_eighty_sx

  • Joined:05-November 08
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:1990 s15-180sx

Posted 12 January 2012 - 06:07 PM

Yeah thought that would be the best idea, cheers guys

#6 Sanouske

  • Joined:17-December 11
  • Location:Australia SA

Posted 16 January 2012 - 12:55 PM

ditto, just make them. Not worth the time and effort fart assing around with resellers. plus resellers charge too much.

#7 millerman

  • Joined:14-October 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:180sx

Posted 20 March 2012 - 04:57 PM

What benefits do u get from doing this?

#8 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 20 March 2012 - 07:26 PM

View Postmillerman, on 20 March 2012 - 04:57 PM, said:

What benefits do u get from doing this?
Some setup's don't use it

#9 millerman

  • Joined:14-October 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:180sx

Posted 21 March 2012 - 04:35 PM

What gets used then? :S

#10 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 21 March 2012 - 05:55 PM

View Postmillerman, on 21 March 2012 - 04:35 PM, said:

What gets used then? Posted Image
some race cars will adjust the idle via the throttle body
they adjust it so its slightly open so air can pass through it to keep it idling

#11 xris

  • Joined:05-November 02
  • Location:Australia VIC

Posted 23 March 2012 - 06:48 AM

exactly as kemp said. I removed mine as im using a microtech and adjusted idle from the idle screw on the throttle. it cleans up the intake plenum heaps. just made up a plate that covers the hole.

#12 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:32 AM

I also dont use it going to run haltech platinum with custom plenum and adjust at throttle body.

#13 aym23q

  • Joined:27-December 06
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:S15

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:55 AM

There must be downsides to removing it though?
Ie AC and power steer idle up wont work

Cold start wouldn't be as good?

#14 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:59 AM

pretty sure its all handled by ecu and in the tune, mines not complete yet perhaps someone with a running car can comment but I think for a weekender/track car its not really going to matter too much with a/c etc..

Edited by R32GTRS, 23 March 2012 - 11:00 AM.


#15 boost_bus180

  • Joined:18-December 05
  • Location:Australia ACT
  • Car:180sx, stagea

Posted 23 March 2012 - 11:18 AM

cant comment on setups with A/C but my 180 with motec ecu starts and idles just fine without it. Cold start is really decent too. Not as perfect as a stock setup but its still good.The p/s idle up is only useful if you're in the habit of turning the wheels when stationary but again I cant comment on that since I don't have p/s either.

#16 aym23q

  • Joined:27-December 06
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:S15

Posted 23 March 2012 - 11:58 PM

I think without idle up by the iacv you would stall so to compensate if u do remove it your idle would need to be set higher.

#17 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 24 March 2012 - 05:40 AM

Now all u guys that dont run iacv got me thinking about pissing mine of as well
I built a quad throttle for my Ve head and I also built a vacuum tank for it
If I Piss the iacv off It would be a lot less work on vacuum lines and shit
Won't nees the vacuum tank just a little vacuum block would do the job

#18 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 24 March 2012 - 10:03 AM

stre8180 main reason im not running it is less hoses and more simple setup with plenum, also im just using a vac block for gauges, ecu etc. oh and no brake booster using dual master pedal box so no vac there either.

#19 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 24 March 2012 - 04:32 PM

View PostR32GTRS, on 24 March 2012 - 10:03 AM, said:

stre8180 main reason im not running it is less hoses and more simple setup with plenum, also im just using a vac block for gauges, ecu etc. oh and no brake booster using dual master pedal box so no vac there either.
yeah the reason i need my vacuum tank is because of my dam brake booster

i had to make the vacuum tank big enough so it could supply the brake booster the last thing i need is no brakes when braking
Attached File  1photo.JPG   488.28K   10 downloads

#20 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 24 March 2012 - 05:22 PM

yeah i remember that tank, you should run a tilton box

#21 STR8E180

  • Joined:30-April 03
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:GTR R34 V-SPEC

Posted 24 March 2012 - 05:46 PM

View PostR32GTRS, on 24 March 2012 - 05:22 PM, said:

yeah i remember that tank, you should run a tilton box
to much work, i dont wana add any thing onto my plate at the moment its already full

#22 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 24 March 2012 - 05:50 PM

yeah fair enough I still havent welded mine in ive had it like 6 months :( then to run new lines :(





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users




dfp


Common Links

  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • User Agreement
  • Help & Support Forums
  • Advertise
  •  

    By your continued use of this site, you agree to follow all Rules & Guidelines and abide by the User Agreement outlined in our Terms & Conditions.

    Hardtuned Network is hosted by Sanity Technology

    Design, Site Management & Hotness provided by Loz.

    Big thanks to all our members and volunteers for making this network what it is today!