RePost: How to install an oil catch can? 

14 replies to this topic

#1 CA18DET_S13_Silvia

• Car:S13 Silvia

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:16 PM

Ok, I got an autotechnica catch can. It's not baffled. Has 2 inlets on top and a drain plug on the bottom.

I have searched for a straight forward install, but can't find one. Hell, I don't even know it's basic operation, all I know it it catched oil from blow by and helps keep moisture and crap out of where u don't want it.

It's going into a drift car, so the best setup is required.

Does it drain back in under vacuum?? I always thought it should, but there is not a pipe going to the bottom of the can, so I guess I'm a bit noob with that one...?

Anyway here:
http://forums.nicocl...an-t137506.html there are several setups, they are all very confusing... Do I want/need an air filter for one side? Or a PCV Valve??? I'm so lost...

Posted Image

Thats what it looks like...

If someone could give me a diag, or something and explain what I need to know about them and how to go about it, that'd be AWESOME!

Also, it's a CA18DET, S13, just in case that makes a difference...

#2 old boy racer

• Car:SIL80

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:26 PM

Diagram 3 is the setup, I installed mine the same. Itís easiest and legal.

#3 blingcommander

• Car:Scooty-Puff Jr.

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:30 PM

http://www.nissansil...howtopic=337858

http://forums.nicocl...an-t137506.html

cool story. i googled it

#4 CA18DET_S13_Silvia

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:31 PM

Hey thanks for the reply, but my car is a track car only, so I'm not phased about legality issues, as long as it's ok for the track and works best. Also, I find those pics a little confusing...

#5 Captain Wow

• Car:180sx ca18det

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:36 PM

It's pretty simple sh*t dude. If you can't follow those diagrams then maybe you shouldn't be doing it. Take it to a mechanic or a mate who knows how to hook it up.

#6 old boy racer

• Car:SIL80

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:37 PM