Salt residue when sweating 

18 replies to this topic

#1 negativecamber

Posted 14 December 2009 - 04:15 PM

hey all

i am a body noob to start off with but i have a question that i want to know more about.

i am a slim build guy who works a shit ton of hours a week and am in the building business. i sweat my ass off everyday i work and am 27 years old.

all of a sudden my sweat is leaving salt residue on my skin and clothes for the first time ever. i have not changed my diet or routine but i seem to be coming home after a hard days work with salt all over me.

does this mean that a certain organ is not working properly? or am i just getting old?

cheers

scotty

#2 Blazn' 180

• Car:JDM s15

Posted 14 December 2009 - 06:39 PM

The salt residue on your clothes will just indicate that you are sweating quite ALOT, and its trying quickly (usually quite common in hot weather). Similar reason for it on your skin, but it will usually indicate that you are sweating quite alot and either you stop working and sweating and it dries quickly or if it is still happening whiltst your working, this indicates that you are stopping to sweat and this means you are quite dehydrated and even worse might be coming close to having some sort of heat illness.

#3 koguchi

Posted 14 December 2009 - 07:09 PM

lol scott I get it most days from working..I mostly notice it on my face when I rub it after work and get epic ammounts of salt on my fingers..big buildup of fine salt..
I thought it just means its been really hot and you worked hard...somone correct me if I'm wrong lol.

#4 negativecamber

Posted 14 December 2009 - 07:09 PM

woo, so basically i need to hydrate more yeah?

#5 koguchi

Posted 14 December 2009 - 07:11 PM

either that or work less.. :D I got salt when I was skinny and now while im fat..
whats your working environment? I do 9 hours a day straight in the blairing sun either out in the feild or in a boiling shed..either way...salt salt salt..

#6 negativecamber