Warning: Illegal string offset 'html' in /home/nissansi/public_html/forums/cache/skin_cache/cacheid_1/skin_topic.php on line 907
How to pick your first Digital SLR camera? - Hardtuned.net

How to pick your first Digital SLR camera? 

38 replies to this topic

#1 Siddr20

• Car:Chaser JZX100

Posted 10 August 2008 - 10:38 PM

Hi all,

Im sure the following information will be useful for those wanting to get into photography.

There has been numerous amounts of questions related to "What camera should i buy" - for your first digital SLR camera.

The following information is just from my knowledge and experience. Im no professional, but just wanting to help others.

Feel free to add to this thread too :)

If something I have written is incorrect please do let me know. NO need to be an idiot about it in the post.

-------------------------------------------------

HOW TO PICK YOUR FIRST DIGITAL SLR CAMERA!!

1) What do I like to photograph?

Just ask yourself this question. Once you have found your answer, picking a camera will be much easier.

Why? Well different cameras/len combos acheive different things. Sure point and shoot cameras are just,
a one peice package, but knowing what you would like to shoot would make picking a camera and matching
the right lens a whole lot eaiser.

Examples of different types of photography:

- Action
- Marco
- Portrait
- Motorsport/Sports
- Landscape
- Lowlight/night time
- Indoor (eg clubs, etc)
- etc etc.. There are soo many different flavours :P

2) Know how a digital camera works and its jargons!!

Know how a digtal camera works. Start with the basics of how the light enters perhaps.
Knowing this basic knowledge will aid you later on.

Eg) In digital cameras the light enters thru the lens, then the apeture and finally the sensor.
The Apeture will decide the amount of light entered into the camera while the sensor will convert this process